The Philosophical Apprentice

“Only one who devotes himself to a cause with his whole strength and soul can be a true master. For this reason mastery demands all of a person.” Albert Einstein

Gettin’ away from it all

I wish. With a wife and two kids plus a job I’m not going anywhere. Still I’ve found the necessity of solitude if I’m going to get any reading done for my class. In desperation I’ve cleaned out one of the house’s storage rooms and turned it into a private study. It’s not exactly luxurious but I do have a couch and a makeshift stand up desk. I came up with the idea earlier in the summer but used it only sparingly since it lacks an air conditioner.

Now it’s cooled off considerably and I’ve decided to visit my private lair more often. The change in weather comes at the right time since I’m behind in my class reading. Spending a week at my parent’s house did not help in that regard.

To make it easier I’ve tempted myself with a cold beer and a cigar; both of which I’ve discovered are essential to the philosophic life. I’ll have to be careful with the spiders though. I’ve discovered that in the South you cannot leave a room unoccupied for more than about five minutes without having our eight legged friends take over. I’ve already killed one Black Widow spider in my study cave.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

