The Philosophical Apprentice

“Only one who devotes himself to a cause with his whole strength and soul can be a true master. For this reason mastery demands all of a person.” Albert Einstein

An Ordeal in the Kitchen

This weekend I tried out my plan to start cooking once a month in an effort to save money and time. I found a book at the local library called Frozen Assets – Cook for a Day, Eat for a Month by Deborah Taylor-Hough and decided to try use its recipes and insights. So Saturday I went to the local Aldi and picked up enough food to cook for two weeks (Taylor-Hough recommends starting out cooking for two weeks until you get the hand of it). Right away I can see that I will save beaucoup money shopping  this way because I only spent $110. Yeah!

When I got back to the house I started cooking.While it the cooking for a month is a great concept and a sure fire way to save money be prepared for an ordeal when you get done to preparing the food. I started cooking at 4pm and ended at 12 in the morning. By the end my feet were killing me. Aarrgh!!!The upshot however is that I’ve got a freezer full of food that will likely feed me and my wife for well over two weeks.

Overall I recommend the idea of cooking once a month and will do it again. However, I will go ahead and cook for a full month next time if I am going to spend 8hours or more in the kitchen.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

