The Philosophical Apprentice

“Only one who devotes himself to a cause with his whole strength and soul can be a true master. For this reason mastery demands all of a person.” Albert Einstein

Time Keeps on Slippin’ Slippin’ Slippin’ into the Future

Great article today from Robert Gotcher at Classic Catholic 

It’s short so I”ll include the whole thing

Time

I’ve come to the conclusion that I waste a lot of time. I’m going to presume that I’m not the only one. There are so may little things that can eat up our time. Watching that cute video on fb is just a waste of time. Watching tv, except very intentionally. Listening to stupid talk radio shows (even NPR most of the time, but there can be some really interesting things on NPR). Football. Why have I wasted so much of my life watching football? Or listening to baseball? Uecker is entertaining, but come on!

If I want to live the life I want to live–praying, spending time with my kids, reading, writing, gardening, playing my guitar, keeping the house up, making things. I’ve gut to cut almost all of that other stuff out. It is all a monumental waste of time. No wonder Americans are so unproductive. We spend all our time on fb.

This is an important topic I think since our time is the currency of our lives. I’m guilty as charged when it comes to wasting time. My biggest vices are surfing the internet and youtube. I’ve done well elsewhere. I watch about 5 hours of EWTN programming every week. Still the time I save I turn around and waste on youtube – oh look there’s a new Aikido video out there.  I also waste a lot of time researching homeschool topics and following my RSS feeds. I’m trying to cut back and I have set a goal of powering off the computer by 9pm so I can get 2 or 3 hours of serious reading done before I go to bed.

Yet there is a point that I do not want to cross when it comes to being efficient with my time.  Every once in a while I want to waste my time watching a baseball game or settle comfortably into a foretaste of eternity by smoking a cigar and staring off into space. I fear there is a little bit of Calvin in all Americans who has a haunting suspicion that someday somewhere we may be happy doing nothing.

It might be easier to do if we didn’t attempt to have it all or do too much.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

