The Philosophical Apprentice

“Only one who devotes himself to a cause with his whole strength and soul can be a true master. For this reason mastery demands all of a person.” Albert Einstein

Some of the Best Advice I Have Read in a Long Time

I happen to read a lot. Or rather, I happen to spend a lot of time scanning the internet.  A lot of the material I come across on the internet may seem profound at the time but most often it never manages to make it into my long term memory. Still, once in a while I read a piece that sticks with me. Two weeks ago I ran across an article by Brett & Kate McKay called The Child Is the Father to the Man: 9 Foundational Habits Young Men Should Start Now to Raise Themselves Right. In this piece the authors point out that what a young man does today will be reaped by the mature man in the morrow. To ensure a bountiful harvest the authors recommend nine foundational habits. They are as follows:

1. Save 20% of Your Money  

2. Exercise Daily  

3. Eat Healthy

4. Plan Weekly and Daily

5. Read for Pleasure

6. Brush and Floss

7. Meditate

8. Journal

9. Serve

These are all good habits that yield impressive benefits if done on a regular basis. I have been or have been attempting to implement all of these in my life.  I would like, in the days to come, to examine each of these practices and explore some of the good effects they bring about.  In the meantime, I encourage all the men out there ( women too, it’s applies equally to the fairer sex) to read the source article. Go ahead and check out the rest of the website – The Art of Manliness  – you will, I guarantee, find some very useful information there.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

