The Philosophical Apprentice

“Only one who devotes himself to a cause with his whole strength and soul can be a true master. For this reason mastery demands all of a person.” Albert Einstein

Say Hello to my Little Friend

There is a law in computer science that the newest version of Windows will run smoothly for about one week before it begins to behave like molasses in January. I bought a new laptop a year or two ago with Windows 7. I have it set up in my study cave and I only use it for schoolwork and for the odd occasion when I travel. Still, for what little I do use it it’s been running really slow, twiddle your thumbs slow.

Ubuntu

Enough of that I decided. I’d installed Ubuntu on it last winter and played around with it for a while but I had forgotten my password.  I still had my installation thumb drive so I decided to reload it again alongside Windows.  Time for decisive action you see. It reloaded fine and it even prompted me to upgrade to the latest variation 13.10 Saucy Salamander.

I’ve been using Ubuntu exclusively for the past two weeks now and I have been very impressed. The speed and responsiveness have been extraordinary. When I use Windows at work it feels like I’ve downgraded from a Ferrari to a Yugo. I can also browse the internet confidently knowing that I’m immune to most of the crapware and viruses proliferating in the digital commons. And best of all its free.

Of course there is a bit of a learning curve with using a system as different as Ubuntu. Loading software not located in the software center  is a hassle. And so far I have been unable to use TOR with it.  But overall I have been adjusting just fine.

Speaking of software, I’ve been pleased with the range of variety. It comes with Firefox and Thunderbird which gives you the flexibility to adjust the tools people use the most. The only real drawback so far has been the lack of an open source alternative to Microsoft OneNote. As much as I hate Microsoft, particularly its CEO, I have to say that OneNote is one of the best programs ever created. I could probably run OneNote with WINE but I don’t really want to fool around with it. As a work around I have been using the web version of OneNote but it lacks a lot of the functionality that makes the installed so great. I am currently exploring open source alternatives OneNote but while many are called few are chosen. I have faith that one day I’ll find an alternative to OneNote that’ll allow me to cut the cord to the Microsoft Empire. In the meantime me and my little friend Ubuntu are going to get to know each other a lot better.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

