The Philosophical Apprentice

“Only one who devotes himself to a cause with his whole strength and soul can be a true master. For this reason mastery demands all of a person.” Albert Einstein

Keeping a Reading Log

Lately I have had good success in spending more time reading every night instead of wasting time on the internet. One of the tools I have used to good effect in this endeavor is to  keep a reading log.

I keep it as simple as possible. I have a favorite chair where I do the majority of my reading. At the side table I keep a notepad where I write down the date and the titles of the books I am reading along with start times and end times. I ‘ve also decided to start adding the pages I read each time. And that’s it.

I’m shooting for 20 hours a week and I hope that keeping better track of what and when I read will help. So far I’m pleased. I have been doing it for about a week so far with some success. I’ve noticed that when I’m goofing off on the computer it’s on the back of my mind now to log off the e-meth machine and settle down to read for my quota.

I may adding some features like plot summaries or my reactions to the book int the future. Better yet I might one day start keeping my daily notes of my reading material on this blog  but for the time being I want to stick with what I’m doing. Right now I’m so happy that I came up with a good idea of my own.

If you’d like more information on the value of keeping a reading log  read this article by Cynthia Crossen.

You will also enjoy a great little blog Kaizen Reading. The author Dolly Garland has a very good post on 9 Reasons to Keep A Reading Journal.

I hope you enjoy  the articles and I hope you will also start your own reading log.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

