The Philosophical Apprentice

“Only one who devotes himself to a cause with his whole strength and soul can be a true master. For this reason mastery demands all of a person.” Albert Einstein

On Reading Philosophy for Pleasure

I have noticed myself procrastinating lately when the time comes to sit down and study philosophy. This is strange since there is nothing I enjoy so much as philosophy. So why then? One of the answers I think is that I have managed to turn studying philosophy into a chore. My recent obsession with developing a note taking system is a reflection of that tendency. Note taking is important but I shouldn’t read philosophy to take notes but rather read philosophy because i enjoy reading philosophy. In this vein I found this quote helpful:

No one should go unwillingly to the study of philosophy, surrendering reluctantly to its imperious claims and taking up the work as a dull and heavy duty. For philosophy is not only inescapably important for the person who seeks education and culture; it is also one of the most attractive and absorbing studies that can engage the attention of any mind.
Single Post Navigation

One thought on “On Reading Philosophy for Pleasure

  1. 70590 661206I like this post, enjoyed this one thanks for posting . 750885

Leave a Reply

